Navigation

Home / News / Help make sure SB 1173 is heard

Help make sure SB 1173 is heard

Please contact House members now and let them know how important SB 1173 is and that it does NOT cost any money.
As you know, SB1173 would help single moms get the education they need while making sure their children are taken care of. SB 1173 is sponsored by Sen. Heather Carter, and because she is not supporting the Republican budget that has been introduced in the Legislature, all of her issues and bills are stalled.
We need the House to hear SB1173 this week – and you can help right now.
Here are talking points for calling and/or emailing House members. Keep scrolling for a list of phone numbers and email addresses.
If you call and talk to a representative or leave a message, you could say:
  • Please put SB 1173 on the floor for a vote.
  • SB 1173 costs no money and will help individuals get off of assistance – saving the state money – and helping women and their children be self sufficient.
If you email, here’s what you could write:
  • Please put SB 1173 on the floor for a vote.
  • SB 1173 costs no money and will help individuals get off of assistance – saving the state money.
  • The bill allows individuals to count education towards their work requirement in order to continue to receive child care assistance. The bill does not expand eligibility but simply provides flexibility in the program to help single moms become self sufficient while at the same time making sure their children are taken care of and are successful in school.

Member Phone Numbers and Email Addresses:
Russell Bowers: 602-926-3128, rbowers@azleg.gov
Becky Nutt: 602-9264852, bnutt@azleg.gov
Warren Petersen: 602-926-4136, wpetersen@azleg.gov
Thomas R. Shope Jr.: 602-926-3012, tshope@azleg.gov
Regina Cobb: 602-926-3126, rcobb@azleg.gov
Michelle Udall: 602-926-4856, mudall@azleg.gov
Steve Pierce: 602-926-5584, spierce@azleg.gov
Charlene Fernandez: 602-926-3098, cfernandez@azleg.gov
Dr. Randall S. Friese: 602-926-3138, rfriese@azleg.gov
Athena Salman: 602-926-4858, asalman@azleg.gov
Nancy Barto: 602-926-5766, nbarto@azleg.gov
Anthony Kern: 602-926-3102, akern@azleg.gov
Bret Roberts: 602-926-3158, broberts@azleg.gov
Aaron Lieberman: 602-926-3300, alieberman@azleg.gov
Alma Hernandez: 602-926-3136, ahernandez@azleg.gov
Ben Toma: 602-926-3298, btoma@azleg.gov

 

Thank you for speaking up on behalf of Arizona women and families. Please ask your family and friends to do the same on May 22, 2019.